SS-TWR Distance Accuracy

I am currently testing the capabilities of uwb and using dwm1001-dev. I want to use 1 anchor (initiator) to communicate with 4 tags (responder) through SS-TWR and get the distance of each tag. I want to light up a led if a tag has moved 2cm or more from its original position. I am new to this, so we are currently using the Decawave/dwm1001-example (youtube), Decawave DWM1001 Firmware User Guide, Decawave DWM1001 Firmware API Guide, Decawave DWM1001 System Overview, Decawave APS011 Application Notes (Source of error in TWR), and Decawave APS013 Application Notes (Implementation of TWR) as a bench mark. I do understand the standard PANS library is meant to use multiple anchors to get a better estimate of the tags distance, but I want to test the limits of UWB with just one anchor. I am able to make 1 anchor communicate with 1 tag using SS-TWR, but I am getting a distance fluctuation of ±20cm when the anchor and tag are 1m apart (0.8m – 1.2m) in an open field, vertically oriented. I have tried these ways to lessen the error margin:

• Change response delay/response time (Forum)
  • Change antenna values (Forum)
  • Make sure the anchor and tags are calibrated for ranging (Forum)
  • Make sure range bias is applied (Forum)
  • Check board sensitivity (Forum, not implemented in original code)
  • Change XTAL trim value (Forum)

I am still getting a ±20cm fluctuation with these changes. I am aiming for an accuracy of <2cm. I know the equation in the code for calculating time of flight and distance is correct, but I think the clock difference between the anchor and tag is affecting the ToF calculation. The diagram below is what I am trying to achieve.

So, I have many questions:

1. Is using the Decawave dwm-simple example given in the software download easier to modify/build upon than the Decawave dwm1001-example?
  2. Can I use the standard PANS library to communicate 1 anchor with 4 tags or will I need to create/modify the PANS library?