Ultra Wide Band One Way Ranging Issues

Hello!

I am new to UWB technology and am somewhat familiar with the STM32FXX microcontroller family. I am using a STM32F205RET7 board with the DW1000 chip to implement a one way ranging protocol. I am using CubeMX to initialize my peripherals and the IDE included. I am using only one anchor and tag for now, but I would eventually like to have a configurable number of anchors in the system. The tag acts as the “initiator” which sends an initial message to the anchor which acts as a “responder”, which responds to the initial message by sending a pre-determined response message back to the initiator. The tag would then use the timestamps of when each message is sent and received to calculate the time of flight it takes to communicate between the two components, and from there the distance between them. I am running into some issues confirming whether the initial message is received, however.

1. This is how I am checking that the message is done being sent by the initiator:
    (rest of code)

dwt_starttx(DWT_START_TX_IMMEDIATE | DWT_RESPONSE_EXPECTED); // start transmission

while(1)
    {
    	uint32_t status = dwt_read32bitreg(SYS_STATUS_ID);
    	if ((status & SYS_STATUS_TXFRS) != 0) // check if the TXFRS bit is set in the status register
    	{
    		HAL_GPIO_TogglePin(GPIOC, LED_GRN_Pin); // toggle the green LED
    		RedLED_off();
    		break;
    	}
    }

dwt_rxenable(DWT_START_RX_IMMEDIATE); // enable receptions immediately following end of transmission

status_reg = dwt_read32bitreg(SYS_STATUS_ID); // save a copy of the status register

while (!((status_reg = dwt_read32bitreg(SYS_STATUS_ID)) & (SYS_STATUS_RXFCG | SYS_STATUS_ALL_RX_TO | SYS_STATUS_ALL_RX_ERR)))
{}; // we assume that the transmission is achieved correctly, poll for reception of a frame or error/timeout
(rest of code)

1. Here is the beginning of the responder side of my code:
    while (1) // loop forever responding to ranging requests
    {