Sleep Mode Swap During Operation | Power Consumtion

Hi,

I am new to UWB communication. I want to buy TREK1000 but have a few design questions in mind if someone can address it. In my RTLS application, I want tag (TX) to be as low power consuming as possible. I don’t need a high data rate, accuracy or precision of localization. Moreover, my application will be in LoS in open field.

1. For the tag, can I switch between sleep mode to lowest power TX mode during operation (in real-time) from host processor, in TREK1000 evaluation boards? The motivation is to not run tag in TX mode all the time and save some power and energy requirements by having a duty cycle such as 95% sleep and 5% TX operation.

2. Does the TREK1000 boards API provide data communication commands? Along with positioning information, I want to send sensory data from tag to anchors. Does API provide this functionality?

3. What’s the power consumption of TREK1000 boards in lowest power TX mode (mode 1)? In DW1000 data sheet, it is mentioned that TX mode consumes max 70 mA. I couldn’t find information on current consumption of evaluation board. At one point, it is written if power source is USB, it should at least be capable of supplying 250 mA. Does this mean minimum power consumption of TREK1000 board (in TX mode 1) is 250 mA? Please guide.

4. DW1000 user manual tells about parameters of mode 1 such as data rate and sequence length, all of which indirectly affect range and accuracy. Can someone please give a rough estimate of what range and accuracy I should expect for a tag running in TX mode 1 in open field LoS application?

Thanks.

The TREK1000 contains 4xEVB1000. The main purpose of the TREK is to give an instant tracking, locating or geo-fencing setup for evolution.