RX power sensitivity

Hello everyone,

I have some questions about the RX power sensitivity.
I have acquired some DWM1000 modules and I have 2 anchors and 1 tag.
I have configured the modules to transmit with maximum power (0x1F1F1F1F) but for some reason every day the RX power sensitivity varies by a lot.
My other settings are 110kbps/64MHz pulse frequency and 2048 preamble
When I measure on a distance of 10 meters one day I get -62dBm the other -78dBm and a other day -68dBm.
I’m kinda new with wireless communication so I donit know what affects it all.
Today’s weather is approx 25 degrees and 33% humidity. I forgot to record weather data with my previous tests.

My goal with these modules is to have the anchors at least 50 meters apart and the tag at least 120 meters from the anchors.
One day I can do everything no problem (-95dBm +/- 150 meter from anchor) and the other day I get stuck half way because my sensitivity is down at -105dBm +/- 80 meter.
Is there a way to configure sensitivity? Because the datasheet’s 290 meter is a bit off if you tell me.

Regards,

Kite Robotics B.V.

Hi,
What range do you get if you put the TX power to its legal max? (-41.3 dBm/MHz )
Disappointed range can have various causes,
It could be caused by HW design see APS017 Max Range In DW1000 Systems, and APH001 on DW1000 HW Design Disappointed range could also be caused by software or environment, see APS011 Sources of error in twr.

Finally, information on RX sensitivity can be found in the IC user manual, eg the chrystal trim section (8.1) and the RX section 4.7
All documents can be fetched from: https://www.decawave.com/

Leo

Hey Leo,

Thanks for your reply.
As I described before, I have the transmit power level to max. (register set to 0x1F1F1F1F)
I’m not sure if this setting violates the legal limit of transmit power.

Secondly, as mentioned before, I’m using the DWM1000 modules.
I hope that the modules have no bad hardware design which can affect my measurements.