New Business Venture with UWB

I am new to UWB Tecknology but in the factory automation we are present for the past 28 Years. We come across many requirements to locate bins/assets in a factory environment. So we thought of developing our own product range for which I was looking for some guidance from anybody who can help me.

I would like to know how to go about it ? which board is most suitable and from where to source the enclosures, do I need to use an external antenna for anchors ? etc. etc.

I hope to hear from anyone out there.
Thanks a lot.
Patrick

1 Like

Hi
With this kit you can start MDEK1001 Development Kit
In this link you can find more information https://www.decawave.com/product/mdek1001-deployment-kit/

Thank you Fdiaz, I have already purchased this and am doing a POC with one our customers. Since its and industrial requirement I was wanting to know more on its suitability in Industry.

Plus more worried about the capability of this board as a anchor viz. do I require to modify the antenna or should I piggyback on a Raspberry Pie.

If you can guide me then I will be most obliged to you.
Thanks and warm regards.
Patrick

Hi Patrick,

I have just sent you a PM.

Our hardware is custom designed in enclosures suitable for industrial environments. I have over 30 years experience designing for harsh environments from horticulture to steelworks.

Chris

The evaluation kit contains a dwm1001 module which is already designed to work within electrical and rf standards. It is not necessary to redesign the antenna. UWB technology can work in different channels, according to the channel used are the characteristics you will get. For long range you take slow channels (they are not normally used to locate, only for iot messages). To locate it is common to use fast channels, normally channel 5 that operates at 6.8 Mbps. In general, uwb usually has little interference when being in a high and exclusive band at the moment.