MDEK1001 Z-Accuracy

Hi,

I’m relatively new to this technology and am doing experiments for my thesis. For these experiments, four anchors are set in a square shape at one height and a tag is placed in static mode in the middle. I am getting around 10 cm error in x and y, which seems consistent with the manual’s numbers. However, I am getting around 50 cm in Z. Is there any way to see what I may be doing wrong? I tried putting all the anchors and the tag on the floor (z = 0) and the anchors in a square shape with a dimension of 60 cm. The estimates are giving me z = 20 cm again.

The main problem is that I am extracting the ranging measurements to do least-squares and get an estimate myself. And since the error is high, the least-squares diverges and doesn’t give me any numbers.

I have also tried updating the firmware using the DRTLS Android app but it always says “failed”.

Does anyone have an idea what might be wrong?

Thanks!

Nothing is wrong. Your anchors have a lot more horizontal diversity and separation than vertical diversity and separation and so you gain greater accuracy in the horizontal direction.
Think of it this way: If you move the tag 1m to the side how much does your range to an anchor change? Probably a fair proportion of 1 m. Now move your tag 1 meter vertically, how much does the range change? Assuming a horizontal distance of 5 m from the anchor the range will change by about 10 cm.

This is for a thesis so I’m assuming you want to be academically rigorous. Look up geometric dilution of precision. It’s normally used in relation to GPS but the principals are equally applicable to any positioning system.
Take the anchor locations, the tag location and the errors or uncertainty in the individual tag to anchor ranges. Use them as inputs to the GDoP calculation and you will get the horizontal and vertical accuracies you can expect to achieve.