HW Recommendation for simple project

Hello,

I’m new to UWB applications and would like some advice on what to buy to start develop.

I need to track a moving hand held “tool” 0.2 to 5 meters away. The moving object should have a tag powered with battery. The stationary UWB receiver should control a motor depending on distance. I only think absolute distance is necessary (TWR?). I hoped for an easy Arduino project which I could connect a motor and an encoder to, but then read that the UNO processor is limited for these applications. And also there seemed to be concerns of lack of support.

What do you recommend? I have less than two months to make this “prototype” work with rather limited time for it in my schedule. I have done some embedded on a PIC and Arduino and I’m trying to get back into embedded work tasks.

Should I buy DWM3001CDK, DWM1001-DEV, DWS1000 (Arduino shield), DWM3000EVB(Arduino Shield)? Maybe ESP32 boards from Makerfab? I’m not sure if the more advanced modules (DWM3001CDK) would make it more easier or more complex to develop this.

Assuming you’re not aiming for mm accuracies then I’d go with an arduino / DW1000 based system. Most of the hardware and code that you will need is there out of the box. Will it be the most power efficient or fastest updating system possible? No. Is it the quickest route to something that works and you can build upon? Probably.

From what you said the hopefully far shorter time to get things running is worth the downsides. There should ex ready to go TWR examples out there that will need minimal code changes to get working.

Certainly go with an ARM based Arduino board but beyond that unless you run out of IO most of them will be fine unless you’re really pushing the update rate or other tasks that you want it to do.