Gain a 0.5 cm accuracy at short distances (meters)

Hi to all,
I’m new in Decawave products.

I’m starting a new system design in which I need to get the position of an object inside a
parallelepiped shaped volume (2m x 1m x 1m).
If I place 8 anchors (one anchor at each of the 8 corners), is it possible to get the position of a tag (contained in such parallelepiped shaped volume) with a 0.5cm accuracy?
Which Decawave device do you suggest?

Thanks in advance

Hello,
0.5cm i found it very difficult (and only using ranges (ToF or TDoA) to calculate the position). You can obtain something “near <10cm for example” with the position calculation depending on different things like GDOP, LOS, algorithms and even using another sensors maybe. Even the documentation says 10 cm. In my case, my distances errors varies with real distances, 5.010 meters i have a error like 5cm and 3 cm of STD on LOS (calibrated).
I use the Mdek1001 kit to work my firmware.
Sorry cause i didnt help a lot :confused:
Cheers

Thank you so much!
Very helpful!
:slightly_smiling_face:

Cheers!

The lack of details prevents me from being absolute about what can be done, but you can achieve 0.5 cm precision with a system based on a DW1000. It isn’t easy to do this, and none of the freely available code will manage it, either.

The key to achieving this is two things: lots of anchors and excess beacon rate to enable filtering. Having more anchors produces more measurements to average out for any single beacon hit, as long as the location engine can take in more than a set number into the solution. Then, if you can average together multiple beacon results, you get lower and lower position noise. In effect, using more than one beacon is also an anchor count multiplier.