dwt_writetxfctrl and ranging bit

Hello,

I’m a PhD student playing with localization. Currently I’m in the simple MAC layer implementation for DW1000 and I’ve stumbled upon a problem, and I’m curious if maybe somebody can validate this behaviour.

IEEE 802.15.4 defines ranging bit to differentiate ranging packets from general DATA packets. To set it, I’ve used dwt_writetxfctrl API function. Also I’ve validated that correct value was indeed written to corresponding register.

From what I can see, setting or clearing this bit has no effect on the receiving end. In other words, cb_data->rx_flags is always 0. I’ve checked API implementation and I can’t seem to find a error. Am I missing something?

Thx in advance!

Hey Hrvoje,

as indicated in the User Manual page 74 ‘This bit has no operational effect on the DW1000’. I think this should answer your question. So it does not have an effect on the receiving end, but you could use this bit for your protocol implementation, because this bit is also copied in the PHR of the transmitted frame.

BR,
Bernhard
Graz University of Technology

Hello Bernhard,

thx for answer.

Maybe I wasn’t clear. I get that flag doesn’t have any operational effect since DW1000 is time stamping all transmissions.

I have two DW1000 chips that are communicating and ranging flawlessly. Problem is that I don’t see Ranging bit on the receiving end in PHR if I set it in TX_FCTR on transmitting end. Basically, I can’t use it in protocol since it appears that the flag is not transferred. Data rate and frame length are transferred correctly.
So I’m not sure if this is a bug in a chip or intendant behaviour. From what I read in datasheet and user manual, as you previously stated, this bit should be copied to PHR frame and transmitted. I can’t see that behaviour.

BR,
Hrvoje

Hi Hrvoje,

I have tried the simple examples, and reading frame info (register 0x10) shows ranging bit set, if it is set in the transmitter end.