DWM3000 range issues (total newb)

G’day,
I’m a total newbie to the DWM devices. I’m using the Qorvo DWM3000 module with built in ceramic patch. I have just got the driver library running with our processor and I’ve started experimenting with the basic TX and RX application examples. I’m testing this indoors in a wooden frame house with normal plasterboard walls. At this point I can’t get more than perhaps 5m away before I no longer see any packets on ch5 or 9. Eg I have the RX on my workbench and the TX almost LOS in the hallway and I lose signal. I was hoping to at least be able to extend into the adjacent room.
Are there some newbie “gotchas” that I may have missed that would critically impact range?
Cheers,
Ingmar
(Australia)

Antenna orientation and polarisation can have a big impact. If you take a look at page 17 of the module datasheet here you can see that the antenna gain can vary by up to 20 dB depending on orientation.
As a very crude rule of thumb every 6 dB more gain allows you to double the range, 20 dB represents around a factor of 10 increase in range going between the worst and the best antenna orientations.

If you keep the modules pointing up as shown in the first picture on that page then you’ll get close to the best performance no matter how it rotates around the vertical axis.
Laying the units down with the two antennas towards each other, something I could easily see someone doing when starting out, would represent an angle of 0 on the second plot, not the worst possible orientation but not good. If you need to lay the units down rather than standing them up then it looks like having them roughly side on to each other would give the best results.