DWM1001 development with BLE

Hello everyone, my first time posting here so woo got that going.

Anyway, I am a student graduating on the creation of an UWB device that shows the distance between two nodes using BLE to communicate to the phone and UWB to meassure the distance.

I’ve come across the DWM1001 dev modules which feature the DW1000 and the NRF52832 MCU. Sounds perfect to test the basic functionality before designing my own hardware. I have bought two of these dev boards and got started. The two way ranging example works good, accuracy needs to be calibrated but that’s for later.

The problem is, I can’t figure out how to setup the bluetooth part. Should I focus on getting everything on the NRF working and just write my own code that uses the API calls to meassure distance? Or is there an example I can use to get me started? I have noticed the PANS2.0 advertises itself by BLE but there is no source code available for that (I understand that). But maybe there is a small bluetooth example available somewhere?

Hope someone gets my question and is able to assist me.

Kind regards

Hey there,

I would like to asked if you already have found an solution to this problem? or someone else can help?

As you I tested the Simple Code Example and it works well. Now I like to add there a Bluetooth Communication, so that I connect the Nodes to my PC, Tablet or something else.

Thanks for helping in advance.

The source code of the Android app is available

is that not what you’re looking for ?
And why would you measure distance with uwb which at best expects 10 cm precision ? Use cases of uwb are rather localisation, not measures, but for learning why not.

As the user guide explains, you can use a passive node to log the locations through USB serial to your PC. Is that what you need ?

Hey thank you for your reply.

Of course at the end I like to bulid an localisation system, and not only measure the distance, it is just an learning think.