Adding new anchors and tags dynamically as needed

Hello. I am new to decawave and have used dw3000 to create an item tracking system with 3 anchors and 1 tag using two-way ranging. I took help from the DW3000 library on github. Now I have to increase the number of tags and anchors in the system as desired by the user. How can that be done? Any suggestions would be appreciated.

The short answer is that it’s not simple.

Each tag needs a unique ID so that an anchor can reply to a specific tag. That’s fairly simple and a relatively minor change if you have already added support for addressing specific anchors.

And you need some method of sharing airtime between tags.That gets trickier.

If you have a low number of tags or a very low update rate you may be able to get away with an aloha style method, tags measure their locations independently with a semi-random delay between attempts. As long as the percentage of time that something is active is low this works well. But as you increase the number of tags or the required update rate it can quickly hit a point where it starts to drop off and fail. At that point you need some form of coordination between tags, the best way to do this is very application specific.

Thanks for the prompt reply. But I am stuck in the step of introducing multiple tags/anchors in the system. What should the system design for this initial communication be like? Do I need a master tag/anchor for checking new devices, or should all devices be constantly polling? Also currently the IDs of anchors are hardcoded, how can I do so without hardcoding them. Is it possible?

What should the system design for this initial communication be like?