Getting Started

Hi Everyone!

I’m a newbie from NZ and very excited to be getting into UWB – something I’ve been interested in for the past 10 years. Although prior to that I was an electronics engineer I have been too busy with other things to keep up with technology.

I’m about to embark on a project utilising Decawave’s DW1000, and have a couple of university interns helping me. They are newbies to the technology as well, plus I’m a bit rusty having been away from development for too long!

I’d really appreciate any assistance anyone could provide to help us get started. Assuming we buy the TREK1000, plus some DWM1000’s, what would we need and what steps should we take to design a working prototype which would include a number of tags (say 50), 3 anchors (mounted in ceiling) and software running on a PC or SBC to triangulate and integrate with the software that needs to know the positions of each tag in a room?

In this application, we simply need to identify the position of each tag carried by a person in a large room. Movement won’t be an issue, but NLOS will be a bit of an issue, with people rather than walls causing the attenuation. The cost of each tag must be as low as possible as the application is very price sensitive. What I’d love is some guidance on the following, if anyone can help please:

What Decawave documents are best to study initially, to begin working with the TREK1000, and to understand how both the hardware and software works.
What equipment we need. For instance do we need an oscilloscope for testing and if so, what speed / specs / any suggestions?
What is the recommended overall architecture and what components are required, eg a bunch of tags each of which include a controller, 3 anchors each with presumably the same controller and connected together via LAN or WiFi? Plus a server device – either a single board computer or a PC – that controls the anchors and triangulates the position of each tag.